Dhawan leads DC to 7-wicket win over PBKS

PBKS vs DC in IPL 2021: Mayank Agarwal’s 99 in vain as Shikhar Dhawan led Delhi Capitals to 7-wicket victory over Punjab Kings

PBKS vs DC in IPL 2021: Mayank’s 99 in vain as Dhawan leads Delhi Capitals to 7-wicket victory over PBKS to move top of points table- Shikhar Dhawan smashed unbeaten 69 to lead Delhi Capitals to 7-wicket victory over Punjab Kings and move to the top of the IPL 2021 points table. Mayank Agarwal on captaincy debut smashed an unbeaten 99 helped Punjab Kings set a 167-run target for Delhi Capitals.

Earlier, Delhi Capitals captain Rishabh Pant won the toss and opted to bowl first at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Sunday. The two teams are coming on the back of a win and would like to continue their winning momentum. KL Rahul’s Punjab Kings would like to avenge their defeat by 6 wickets earlier during IPL 2021. On the other hand, Rishabh Pant’s Delhi Capitals would be aiming for yet another victory against Punjab Kings in their bid to cement their place in the IPL 2021 playoffs.

PBKS vs DC in IPL 2021: When it comes to overall stats, Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals have faced each other 27 times in IPL. Punjab Kings have the upper hand with 15 victories while DC emerged victorious in 12 matches.

As for Playing XI, Delhi Capitals will field an unchanged XI while Punjab Kings have made two changes. Mayank Agarwal comes in for KL Rahul, who has been hospitalised while Dawid Malan makes his IPL debut in place of off-colour Nicholas Pooran.

Punjab Kings were off to a slow start with Ishant Sharma starting with a maiden over. Then, Kagiso Rabada struck, removing Prabhsimran Singh and Chris Gayle early as Punjab batsmen found it difficult scoring. However, Mayank Agarwal and Dawid Malan too could not help much as they continued to score at a sluggish rate.

PBKS vs DC in IPL 2021: Mayank finally accelerated the scoring taking on Delhi bowlers to bring up the 2nd half-century of IPL 2021. In the end, his unbeaten 99 helped Punjab Kings post 166 in 20 overs.

Delhi Capitals were off to a fine start with Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan bringing up yet another half-century stand. In the powerplay, they took the score to 63/0 in a 167-run chase. After Shaw departed in the 7th over, the scoring rate dropped with Steve Smith managing to score 24 off 22 balls at a sluggish 109.09 strike rate. In the end, Dhawan’s 69 helped DC to a 7-wicket victory.

Points Table

Pos Team Pld Won Lost Net RR Pts
1 Delhi Capitals 8 6 2 +0.547 12
2 Chennai Super Kings 7 5 2 +1.263 10
3 Royal Challengers Bangalore 7 5 2 -0.171 10
4 Mumbai Indians 7 4 3 +0.062 8
5 Rajasthan Royals 7 3 4 -0.19 6
6 Punjab Kings 8 3 5 -0.368 6
7 Kolkata Knight Riders 7 2 5 -0.494 4
8 Sunrisers Hyderabad 7 1 6 -0.623 2


Delhi Capitals Innings 167/3 (17.5 ovs); Won by 7 wickets


Punjab Kings Innings 166/6 (20 ovs)


PBKS vs DC Playing XI:

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Steven Smith, Axar Patel, Lalit Yadav, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma, Avesh Khan

Punjab Kings: Prabhsimran Singh(w), Mayank Agarwal(c), Chris Gayle, Dawid Malan, Deepak Hooda, Shahrukh Khan, Harpreet Brar, Chris Jordan, Riley Meredith, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami

Also Read: IPL 2021 May updates: Point Table, most runs, Wickets, Sixes, Ruled out, Covid 19, replacement, Trade Window all you need to know

PBKS vs DC Live score in IPL 2021: Rishabh Pant’s Delhi Capitals face Punjab Kings sans KL Rahul, Toss at 7 PM; Follow Live Updates

Total matches: 27

Punjab Kings won: 15

Delhi Capitals won: 12

Highest scores:

DC: 231

PBKS: 202

DC: 67

PBKS: 104

PBKS vs DC Live score:

Most Runs

  1. Virender Sehwag- 330
  2. Mayank Agarwal- 327
  3. David Miller- 322
  4. Shreyas Iyer- 298
  5. Shikhar Dhawan292

Most Wickets

  1. Sandeep Sharma- 14
  2. Irfan Pathan- 14
  3. Akshar Patel- 13
  4. Mohammad Shami- 11
  5. Chris Morris- 10

PBKS vs DC Live score

Date Winner Won by Venue
18-Apr-2021 Delhi Capitals 6 Wickets Mumbai
20-Oct-2020 Punjab Kings* 5 Wickets Dubai
20-Sep-2020 Delhi Capitals Super Over Dubai
20-Apr-2019 Delhi Capitals 5 Wickets Delhi
1-Apr-2019 Punjab Kings* 14 Runs Mohali
23-Apr-2018 Punjab Kings* 4 Runs Delhi
8-Apr-2018 Punjab Kings* 6 Wickets Mohali
30-Apr-2017 Punjab Kings* 10 Wickets Mohali
15-Apr-2017 Delhi Daredevils 51 Runs Delhi
7-May-2016 Punjab Kings* 9 Runs Mohali
15-Apr-2016 Delhi Daredevils 8 Wickets Delhi
1-May-2015 Delhi Daredevils 9 Wickets Delhi
15-April-2015 Delhi Daredevils 5 Wickets Pune
25-May-2014 Punjab Kings* 7 Wickets Mohali
19-May-2014 Punjab Kings* 4 Wickets Delhi
16-May-2013 Punjab Kings* 7 Runs Dharamsala
23-Apr-2013 Punjab Kings* 5 Wickets Delhi
19-May-2012 Delhi Daredevils 6 Wickets Dharamsala
15-May-2012 Delhi Daredevils 5 Wickets Delhi
15-May-2011 Punjab Kings* 29 Runs Dharamsala
23-April-2011 Delhi Daredevils 29 Runs Delhi
11-April-2010 Punjab Kings* 7 Wickets Delhi
13-Mar-2010 Delhi Daredevils 5 Wickets Mohali
15-May-2009 Punjab Kings* 6 Wickets Bloemfontein
19-April-2009 Delhi Daredevils 10 Wickets Cape Town
17-May-2008 Punjab Kings* 6 Runs Delhi
27-April-2008 Punjab Kings* 4 Wickets Mohali


For more sports news and IPL 2021 updates, follow us at

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *