India vs Pakistan & England vs Australia in World Cup

T20 World Cup: It’s India’s vs Pakistan and Australia vs England in World Cup as ICC announces groups today; New Zealand with India

ICC T20 World Cup: Bumper clash in T20 WC as India, Pakistan & New Zealand clubbed together; Follow Live updates: Once again, the biggest clash of cricket will be on offer in the ICC T20 World Cup as Virat Kohli’s India and Babar Azam’s Pakistan have been clubbed together in the same group 2. The other big team in the group is Kane Williamson’s New Zealand.

T20 World Cup: It's India's vs Pakistan and Australia vs England in World Cup as ICC announces groups today; New Zealand with India


Round 1 (Qualifying stage):

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12s (Final round):

Group 1: Australia, England, South Africa, West Indies, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1, A2

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup: Virat Kohli’s India to face Babar Azam’s Pakistan; Australia, England in group of death

T20 World Cup: Bumper clash in T20 WC as India, Pakistan clubbed in Group 2; Follow Live updates

The groups, selected on the basis of team rankings as of 20 March 2021, see defending champions the West Indies pooled along with former champions England, Australia and South Africa in Group 1 of the Super 12s, with two qualifiers from Round 1 joining them.

Group 2 will comprise former champions India and Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan and the other two qualifiers from Round 1. Eight teams will contest the first round including automatic qualifiers Sri Lanka and Bangladesh with the remaining six who booked their spot through the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier 2019. Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia join Sri Lanka in Group A, whilst Oman, PNG and Scotland will face Bangladesh in Group B.

Also Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2021: BCCI & ICC’s delegation to visit Oman to inspect venues ahead of WC

ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said: “We are delighted to announce the groups for the T20 World Cup 2021. There are some great match ups offered by the groups and it starts to bring the event to life for our fans as our first multi-team event since the onset of the global pandemic draws closer.”

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah: “With the announcement of groupings, our countdown for the ICC T20 World Cup kickstarts. There is nothing that separates the two groups as both are packed with sides that are highly competitive in the shortest format of the game. Having said that, the exciting T20 format is known for its surprises, and we must be prepared for the same. I am sure we will witness some exciting and nail-biting games

“I am particularly delighted to be in Oman. As a major force in world cricket, the BCCI has always endeavoured to promote and assist Associate Nations. In my capacity as Asian Cricket Council President, my vision is to take cricket far and deep into Asia. Co-hosting the World Cup will put Oman Cricket on the global stage. They are also playing the Qualifiers and it will be an icing on the cake if they make it to the Super 12s.”

BCCI President Sourav Ganguly: “It is good to get Oman in the frame of world cricket with the hosting of the T20 World Cup. It will help a lot of young players take an interest in the game. We know it will be a world class event in this part of the world.”

For more sports news and ICC T20 World Cup latest updates, follow us at

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *