A weird race for second place

As a retired jurist, I seldom write on extremely partisan issues, preferring to go away them to political analysts. Nevertheless, I can’t ignore what I consider is a bizarre race for second place within the present electoral marketing campaign.

DURING A HYPED PRESS CONFERENCE, three presidential wannabes — Sen. Ping Lacson, Manila Mayor Isko Moreno, and former protection secretary Bert Gonzales — dispelled rumors they had been withdrawing from the race and provided themselves as alternate options to Vice President Leni Robredo because the extra viable candidates, ignoring the VP’s speedy ascension in credible ballot surveys (Pulse Asia and OCTA) vis-à-vis their dwindling survey outcomes.

They appear to argue that many citizens opted for frontrunner Bongbong Marcos (BBM) at 56 p.c within the final Pulse Asia survey as a result of they merely abhored Leni. Thus, her withdrawal from the race would allow these voters to swing their assist to one of many three aspirants, whose mixed percentages within the survey (Isko, 8 p.c; Ping, 2; and Bert, 0) is way lower than Leni’s 24.

And even when the 6 p.c of a fourth presidential aspirant, Sen. Manny Pacquiao, who failed to indicate up on the presser, had been added, their complete of 16 p.c (8+2+0+6=16) would nonetheless pale in comparison with Leni’s 24. Logically then, if anybody ought to withdraw, it must be the 4, not the VP. Furthermore, the truth that BBM and Leni current contrasting applications and personalities offers voters an actual alternative. So, as a substitute of a drawback, the distinction must be a bonus to voters.

Given his undisputed expertise within the public service and his tenacious stand towards corruption particularly the pork barrel and its reinventions, Senator Ping was frankly on the highest of my presidential decisions. Nevertheless, with this unlucky incident, I could have made a mistake and will now consign him to the underside of my quick record.

Sadly, with the deliberate absence of BBM, the televised media and Comelec presidential jousts, the final of which was postponed to Could 1, have additionally degenerated into pitiful debates for the second place.

* * *

LET ME NOW TURN TO A MORE PLEASANT TOPIC. I’m happy to say that the 22 students of the Basis for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP), in partnership with the Tan Yan Kee Basis, all handed the final bar exams thereby upholding the 100% custom of excellence established by previous students. Furthermore, three of them had been among the many 14 examinees judged by the Supreme Courtroom to be “Wonderful” and 11 had been among the many “Exemplary.”

Parenthetically, for this bar examination, the Supreme Courtroom didn’t announce the ten topnotchers because it had accomplished previously. As an alternative, it rated and categorised the highest examinees into “Wonderful” (with grades increased than 90 p.c) and “Exemplary” (with grades starting from 85 to 90 p.c).

THE THREE FLP SCHOLARS WHO RATED “EXCELLENT” ARE Stephanie Mae Domingo (College of the Cordilleras or UCor), Geremae Mata (College of San Carlos or USC), and Jani Omamalin (USC), whereas the 11 who rated “Exemplary” are Angelette Bulacan (FEU), William Christian dela Cruz (Fr. Saturnino Urios College or FSUU), Florida Fomaneg (UP), Maria Carissa Guinto (SBU-Manila), Rowell Nico Macalino (ADMU), Carlo Angelo Negado (USC), Laurence Obaob (USC), Carmella Gaye Perez (USC), Josiah David Quising (FEU), Edrea Jean Ramirez (UST), and Mark Stephen Sy (ADMU).

The eight different FLP students who handed (to finish the record of twenty-two) are Banoar Abratique (UCor), Pamela Camille Barredo (FEU), Patricia Isabel Cornelio (FEU), Ricka Abigael Dumelod (UST), Patrick Angelo Gutierrez (FEU), Pleasure Francine Mappang (UCor), Mayumi Matsumura (ADMU), and Juralyn Lilian Obra (UCor).

Could I add that 10 winners within the FLP Dissertation Writing Contest, in partnership with the Ayala Group, additionally rated “Exemplary:” Patrick Edward Balisong (ADMU), Angelette Bulacan (FEU, additionally a scholar), William Christian dela Cruz (FSUU, additionally a scholar), Trisha Aliya Dulanas (USC), Genica Therese Endaluz (ADMU), Catherine Pleasure Lim (ADMU), Kenneth Limosnero (DLSU), Justin Ian Manjares (ADMU), Fidel Rico Nini (UP), and Josiah David Quising (FEU, additionally a scholar). The remaining had been passers.

I observe with appreciation the graduates of legislation colleges outdoors Metro Manila just like the UCor in Baguio, USC in Cebu, and the FSUU in Butuan Metropolis who scored fairly properly, which I believe is a tribute to the FLP boards of judges and the FLP screening committees.

Lastly, the seek for the FLP students and dissertation winners for the present faculty 12 months will finish on April 30. These ought to go to

Feedback to [email protected]

Learn Subsequent

Do not miss out on the most recent information and knowledge.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get entry to The Philippine Day by day Inquirer & different 70+ titles, share as much as 5 devices, hearken to the information, obtain as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Name 896 6000.

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.