Nama calls for 21st edition entries

The Chronicle

Showbiz Reporter
Production houses, studios, stables, galleries, organisations, associations, groups, artists, monitors, and all other stakeholders in the Cultural and Creative Industries (CCIs) have been invited to submit their works for the National Arts Merit Awards (Nama).

Entries for the 21st edition are set to open from September 1 to November 30, 2022.

“The works to be considered for selection are from artists whose works were published from December 1, 2021, to November 30, 2022. Only Zimbabwean citizens or those with Zimbabwean residency status can enter their work for the 21st Nama penned for February 2023,” event organisers, the National Arts Council of Zimbabwe (NACZ) said in a statement issued yesterday.

Obert Dube

Entry forms can be obtained and submitted at the NACZ provincial offices and the National Gallery of Zimbabwe. Creatives can also collect entry forms at registered arts associations and organisations in the country.

“Online entries can be submitted through the NACZ website. For online submissions, supporting material may still need to be submitted in person at the above-listed places for use in adjudication,” NACZ said.

“The entries must be accompanied by the artiste’s product(s). These could be in the form of DVDs, CDs, flash drives, memory cards, hard drives, pictures or books. Individuals submitting works for Nama are also encouraged to supply three sets of the particular works/production to assist adjudicators, except where the product is from the visual arts category.”

Nutty O

Disciplines that will be adjudicated are dance, film, literary arts, theatre, music, visual arts, media and spoken word.

The awards aim to recognise outstanding achievements within the arts sector by rewarding excelling CCI practitioners, thereby encouraging creativity and excellence in the quality of Zimbabwean arts products.

The 20th Nama edition was held in Harare in February this year and saw the likes of choreographer John Cole, Umkhathi Theatre, Obert Dube, television personality Barney Mupariwa, actor Cedric Musongelwa, and musicians Nutty O and Janet Manyowa walking away with awards.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.