LifeStyle & Health

Tommy Castro Was a Triple Winner at 2022 Blues Music Awards: Full Winners List

Tommy Castro swept three main awards on the forty third Blues Music Awards, which have been held on the Renasant Conference Heart in downtown Memphis on Thursday (Could 5). Castro, 67, took the B.B. King entertainer of the yr award, album of the yr for Tommy Castro Presents a Bluesman Got here to City and, along with his band, the Painkillers, band of the yr. The album reached No. 2 on Billboard‘s Blues Albums chart.


See newest movies, charts and information

See newest movies, charts and information

That is the third time Castro has gained entertainer of the yr, an award he beforehand gained in 2008 and 2010.

Sue Foley and Christone “Kingfish” Ingram have been each double winners on the night time. Foley gained conventional blues album for Pinky’s Blues and likewise conventional blues feminine artist (a.okay.a., the Koko Taylor award). She beforehand gained within the latter class in 2020.

Ingram, who gained his first Grammy final month for greatest modern blues album for 662, gained in that very same class right here and likewise modern blues male artist. This was his third consecutive win within the latter class.

Rodd Bland and the Members Solely Band gained the award for greatest rising artist album for Reside on Beale Avenue: A Tribute to Bobby “Blue” Bland. The elder Bland (Rodd’s father) was inducted into the Blues Corridor of Fame in 1981, the Rock and Roll Corridor of Fame in 1992 and acquired a lifetime achievement award from the Recording Academy in 1997. He died in 2013 at age 83.

Mike Finnigan gained the award for instrumentalist – piano (a.okay.a., the Pinetop Perkins Piano Participant Award). That’s certainly one of three awards named for a late blues legend. (The others are the aforementioned B.B. King entertainer of the yr award and the Koko Taylor award to the highest conventional blues feminine artist).

Different key winners included Taj Mahal and Keb’ Mo’.

This yr marked the primary time the awards have been introduced in individual since 2019. The present was held just about the previous two years as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.

Right here’s the complete record of winners for the 2022 Blues Music Awards.

B.B. King Entertainer of the Yr

WINNER: Tommy Castro

Eric Gales

Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)

J.P. Soars

Sugaray Rayford

Album of the Yr

Holler If You Hear Me, Altered 5 Blues Band

Not In My Lifetime, Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra

Pinky’s Blues, Sue Foley

Raisin’ Cain, Chris Cain

WINNER: Tommy Castro Presents a Bluesman Got here to City, Tommy Castro

Band of the Yr

Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra

J.P. Soars and the Purple Hots

Lil’ Ed & the Blues Imperials

Sugaray Rayford Band

WINNER: Tommy Castro & The Painkillers

Track of the Yr

“Fragile Peace and Sure Struggle”, written by Dave Alvin (carried out by Carolyn Wonderland)

“Holler If You Hear Me”, written by Jeff Schroedl & Mark Solveson (carried out by Altered 5 Blues Band)

WINNER: “I’d Climb Mountains,” written & carried out by Selwyn Birchwood

“Actual Good Lie”, written by Christine Vitale, Larry Batiste, Anthony Paule (carried out by Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra)

“Someplace”, written by Tommy Castro & Tom Hambridge (carried out by Tommy Castro & The Painkillers)

Finest Rising Artist Album

GA-20 Does Hound Canine Taylor: Strive It… You Would possibly Like It!, GA-20

Simply Say The Phrase, Gabe Stillman

WINNER: Reside on Beale Avenue: A Tribute to Bobby “Blue” Bland, Rodd Bland and the Members Solely Band

Welcome To The Land, Memphissippi Sounds

You Ain’t Unfortunate, Veronica Lewis

Acoustic Blues Album

WINNER: Expensive America, Eric Bibb

Land of the Sky, Catfish Keith

Let’s Get Pleased Collectively, Maria Muldaur

Let Unfastened These Chains, Hector Anchondo

The Trio Classes, EG Kight

Blues Rock Album

Alafia Moon, Damon Fowler

Dance Songs For Arduous Instances, The Reverend Peyton’s Huge Rattling Band

WINNER: Resurrection, Mike Zito

Tinfoil Hat, Popa Chubby

Unemployed Extremely Irritated, Jeremiah Johnson

Up to date Blues Album

WINNER: 662, Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Injury Management, Curtis Salgado

Holler If You Hear Me, Altered 5 Blues Band

Raisin’ Cain, Chris Cain

Tommy Castro Presents A Bluesman Got here To City, Tommy Castro

Soul Blues Album

Let’s Have A Occasion, Gerald McClendon

WINNER: Lengthy As I Received My Guitar, Zac Harmon

Not In My Lifetime, Wee Willie Walker & The Anthony Paule Soul Orchestra

You Get What You Give: Duets, Dave Keller

You Gotta Have It, Tia Carroll

Conventional Blues Album

Be Prepared Once I Name You, Man Davis

Bob Corritore & Pals: Spider In My Stew, Bob Corritore

Boogie w/ R.L. Boyce (Reside), R.L. Boyce

Little Black Flies, Eddie 9V

WINNER: Pinky’s Blues, Sue Foley

Acoustic Blues Artist

Eric Bibb

Kevin Burt

Man Davis

Doug MacLeod

WINNER: Keb’ Mo’

Blues Rock Artist

WINNER: Albert Castiglia

Tommy Castro

Tinsley Ellis

Ana Popovic

Joanne Shaw Taylor

Up to date Blues Feminine Artist

WINNER: Vanessa Collier

Thornetta Davis

Ruthie Foster

Danielle Nicole

Carolyn Wonderland

Up to date Blues Male Artist

Selwyn Birchwood

Chris Cain

WINNER: Christone “Kingfish” Ingram

Kenny Neal

Mr. Sipp (Castro Coleman)

Soul Blues Feminine Artist

WINNER: Annika Chambers

Trudy Lynn

Terrie Odabi

Kat Riggins

Vaneese Thomas

Soul Blues Male Artist

William Bell

Don Bryant

John Nemeth

Johnny Rawls

WINNER: Curtis Salgado

Conventional Blues Feminine Artist (Koko Taylor Award)

Rory Block

WINNER: Sue Foley

Rhiannon Giddens

Diunna Greenleaf

EG Kight

Conventional Blues Male Artist

Cedric Burnside

Tremendous Chikan

WINNER: Taj Mahal

Sugar Ray Norcia

Jontavious Willis

Instrumentalist – Bass

Willie J. Campbell

Larry Fulcher

Jerry Jemmott

Scot Sutherland

WINNER: Danielle Nicole

Instrumentalist – Drums

Danny Banks

June Core

WINNER: Tom Hambridge

Derrick D’Mar Martin

Chris Peet

Instrumentalist – Guitar

Christoffer “Child” Andersen

Chris Cain

Laura Chavez

Anson Funderburgh

WINNER: Eric Gales

J.P. Soars

Instrumentalist – Harmonica

Billy Department

Bob Corritore

WINNER: Jason Ricci

Brandon Santini

Kim Wilson

Instrumentalist – Horn

Mindi Abair

WINNER: Jimmy Carpenter

Marc Franklin

Regi Oliver

Nancy Wright

Instrumentalist – Piano (Pinetop Perkins Piano Participant Award)

Eden Brent

WINNER: Mike Finnigan

Dave Keyes

Veronica Lewis

Jim Pugh

Instrumentalist – Vocals

Thornetta Davis

Ruthie Foster

WINNER: John Nemeth

Sugaray Rayford

Curtis Salgado

Learn Extra

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.