West Ham Gossip, Expert News, Latest Results, and Transfer News

About West Ham United

Founded in 1895, West Ham United was originally called Thames Ironworks, this east London club is based at The London Stadium having moved there in 2016 after vacating their previous home, the Boleyn Ground, which was often referred to as Upton Park. Known by the nicknames The Irons and The Hammers, the club has a decorated past with plenty of silverware won. Major trophies include three FA Cups, two League Cups, a European Cup Winners Cup and a UEFA Intertoto Cup. Their highest league finish was third in the top flight, a feat they achieved in 1985/86.

Currently managed by David Moyes, over the years the club has been led by a number of highly-successful managers. Some of the most iconic West Ham managers of all time include Harry Redknapp, Billy Bonds and John Lyall, who was in charge for an incredible 708 games. In an era when management turnover was far less than it is today, the club had just four managers (Syd King, Charlie Paynter, Ted Fenton, Ron Greenwood) in charge for a period from 1901 until 1974.

Many big-name stars have played for The Hammers with some of the most notable including three of England’s World Cup-winning team from 1966: captain Bobby Moore and goalscorers Geoff Hurst and Martin Peters. Other legendary players to have donned the famous claret shirt with the blue sleeves include Billy Bonds, Trevor Brooking, Frank Lampard Snr, Mark Noble and Vic Watson.

Who owns West Ham United?

The two biggest shareholders of West Ham United are David Sullivan and David Gold who both made their fortunes with adult-orientated businesses. The duo own more than 85% of West Ham’s shares with the balance held by a number of smaller investors.

London Stadium

Read More